our board and staff

Community Harvest is grateful to have such a wonderful group of individuals leading the organization.  Their support, knowledge, and commitment to improving the lives of their neighbors in Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, and Arundel is crucial to the success of our programs.

Kerry de Bree, Executive Director
Kerry is Community Harvest’s first and only part-time Executive Director, joining the organization in 2006, and has over fifteen years of experience working in nonprofit organizations.  She is also the current Director of Development for another nonprofit organization in Greater Portland.  Kerry received her undergraduate degree from the University of Notre Dame and has an MBA in Nonprofit Management from Brandeis University.

Mathew Heersche, Board President
Matt has been a member of the Community Harvest Board of Directors since 2011, and appreciates that the organization’s focus is local in trying to help those in need within our communities in simple ways.  Matt is an educator and educational consultant, and  likes that high school students are involved in the organization through the various volunteer opportunities available.

carla 1
Carla Russell, Board Vice President
Carla has been on the Community Harvest Board of Directors since 2011.  She co-chairs the Marketing Committee and the Project Pilgrim Committee. Carla and her family enjoy picking up donations and prepping for the annual Thanksgiving meal. Carla works for another non-profit, New Hampshire PBS.

Jeanne Gomez, Board Treasurer
Jeanne has been a member of the Board of Directors for almost five years, and loves to help people in need.  She enjoys being part of a community that cares for one another, and has volunteered for many organizations throughout her life.  In her free time, she enjoys gardening, cooking, knitting, and spending time with her wonderful son. Jeanne is currently the Treasurer for the organization.

Margie Chew, Board Secretary
Margie Chew joined Community Harvest in 2017.  Margie is active with Community Harvest’s Emergency Assistance Program, as well as serving on the monthly and Holiday meals projects. This work continues her lifelong commitment to local philanthropy. Prior to retiring to Maine, Margie served as Director of Boston’s The Kids In Need Foundation for 21 years. In her free time Margie enjoys cooking and is an avid quilter.

Eva Barnfather, Board Member
Eva Barnfather is one of the founding Board Members of Community Harvest and oversees Harvest Cafe, a monthly complimentary community meal, as well as the Noel Dinner, a Christmas Day meal.  Eva is also the co-chair of the Fundraising Committee and leads the effort to raise money for Community Harvest’s programs and services.

Mario Barros, Board Member
Mario joined the Board of Community Harvest in 2013.  He and his family have volunteered for Project Pilgrim since it first began in 1999 ,and Mario been the Head Chef for the event for the past several years.  Mario also serves on the organization’s Scholarship Committee.

Bill Guay
Bill Guay, Board Member
Bill joined the organization in December 2013.  Prior to joining the Board, Bill was a dedicated supporter and volunteered his emcee services for our annual Soiree.  Bill owns the popular Guay’s Sunoco in Kennebunk and is always finding new ways to connect Community Harvest with other local organizations.


55120_433231906733217_1047444226_oGregory Hammond, Board Member
Greg has been involved with Community Harvest since it began in 1999, and has served on the Board of Directors for several years. Greg and his entire family take time out each year to volunteer for both the Project Pilgrim dinner and the Noel dinner.


Randal Simon, Board Member
Randal has been a board member of several local organizations throughout the years. As a resident and a business owner, fund raising to help members of our community has always been his passion and he has joined Community Harvest (2018) to continue to meet his goal.


Alex Gramling, Board Member
Alex Gramling is a marketing executive and father of two who lives with his wife in Kennebunk. He began volunteering with Community Harvest in 2018 and joined the Board in 2021. He is also active in Rotary, United Way, and is founder of his own seasonal non-profit, the Christmas Tree Santas, that donates Christmas trees to low-income families.